Please help MCLEANS Campbeltown--> PEI Canada

Looking to search your family history or share your knowledge on genealogy in Kintyre? Then this is the place for you!

Please help MCLEANS Campbeltown--> PEI Canada

Postby bhuseland » Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:43 pm

Hello,

This is my first time on the Kintyre Forum. Hello to all of you. I'm hoping that someone out there might be able to help me.

I have to go back quite a way to get to my Kintyre heritage. My ancestor Joseph McLean left in 1771 on the ship Edinburgh from Campbeltown, Argyllshire for Prince Edward Island (Called St John's Island at that time), Canada. Here's one of the sources for that passage, paid apparently by Robert Stewart, who was a merchant in Campbeltown before starting a settlement in PEI.
http://vre2.upei.ca/islandmagazine/fedo ... ch2-523/OJ

What I don't know is where Joseph came from. It seems that he was from Campbeltown or nearby, in order to have a relationship with the Stewarts. I have no clear idea when he was born, although he had a daughter Margaret who was married in 1793 to Thomas Simpson in PEI. He died in 1829 or 1830, when his will was probated.

1. Does anyone have a suggestion of what records I could search pre-1771 in Kintyre? Are there any such records?

2. If that's impossible, can you say that most McLeans from Campbeltown were descended from any common ancestors? I'd like to know if it's an old Kintyre family or if it's likely he came from some other part of the Highlands/Western Isles.

Thanks so much!
Brian Huseland
Spokane, Washington state (west coast), USA
bhuseland
Too Shy To Talk Much
Too Shy To Talk Much

Re: Please help MCLEANS Campbeltown--> PEI Canada

Postby Shona » Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:11 pm

Hello and welcome to the Kintyre Forum.

I have a number of McLeans in my family tree and they are notoriously difficult to pin down - except for Kintyre's own grave robber, John McLean.